Action Request on House Appropriations

(no name) ((no email))
Tue, 20 Jun 1995 19:16:02 -0400

TO: Concerned Supporters of Archaeology

FROM: Society for American Archaeology
Ralph Johnson, Executive Director
Donald Craib, Manager, Government Affairs and Counsel

RE: Action Request on House Appropriations

DATE: June 20, 1995

The House Appropriations Committee's Subcommittee on Interior
voted today to fund the Advisory Council for Historic
Preservation (ACHP) with $1 million dollars in fiscal year 1996.
This decision is consistent with the subcommittee's desire to
ultimately eliminate funding for a number of agencies, including
ACHP. The next step in the process is for the full House
Appropriations Committee to mark up the subcommittee's bill; this
is scheduled for Thursday morning, June 22.

Please take immediate action to support full funding for the
Advisory Council. Here's what to do:

-- if you reside in the state of a member of the committee,
telephone the member's office immediately (even if you're not in
his or her district)

-- if you don't reside in a member's district, forward this
information to colleagues who are constituents of committee

Any member of Congress may be reached through the U.S. Capitol
switchboard by calling 202/224-3121. You may also wish to call
Chairman Bob Livingston at 202/225-3015 (or fax 202/225-0739).
Please make your contacts immediately; members of the committee
are listed below.

House Appropriations Committee

Republicans (32) Democrats (24)

Robert Livingston, Louisiana, David R. Obey, Wisconsin,
Chair Ranking Member
Joseph M. McDade, Penn. Sidney R. Yates, Illinois
John T. Myers, Indiana Louis Stokes, Ohio
C.W. Bill Young, Florida Tom Bevill, Alabama
Ralph Regula, Ohio John P. Murtha, Pennsylvania
Jerry Lewis, California Charles Wilson, Texas
John Edward Porter, Illinois Norm Dicks, Washington
Harold Rogers, Kentucky Martin Olav Sabo, Minnesota
Joe Skeen, New Mexico Julian Dixon, California
Frank R. Wolf, Virginia Vic Fazio, California
Tom DeLay, Texas W.G. "Bill" Hefner, North Carolina
Jim Kolbe, Arizona Steny H. Hoyer, Maryland
Barbara F. Vucanovich, Nevada Richard J. Durbin, Illinois
Jim Ross Lightfoot, Iowa Ronald D. Coleman, Texas
Ron Packard, California Alan B. Mollohan, West Virginia
Sonny Callahan, Alabama Jim Chapman, Texas
James T. Walsh, New York Marcy Kaptur, Ohio
Charles H. Taylor, North Car. David E. Skaggs, Colorado
David L. Hobson, Ohio Nancy Pelosi, California
Ernest Jim Istook, Jr., Okla. Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana
Henry Bonilla, Texas Thomas M. Foglietta, Pennsylvania
Joe Knollenberg, Michigan Esteban E. Torres, California
Dan Miller, Florida Nita M. Lowey, New York
Jay Dickey, Arkansas Ray Thornton, Arkansas
Jack Kingston, Georgia
Frank Riggs, California
Rodney Frelinghuysen, New Jersey
Roger Wicker, Mississippi
Michael P. Forbes, New York
George Nethercutt, Washington
Jim Bunn, Oregon
Mark W. Neumann, Wisconsin

Thank you.

For additional information, contact:

Society for American Archaeology
900 Second Street NE #12
Washington DC 20002

202/789-0284 fax