Goodman Prize (fwd)

Cliff Sloane (cesloane@MAROON.TC.UMN.EDU)
Tue, 25 Jul 1995 19:32:30 -0500


The Philippine Studies Group of the Association for Asian
Studies announces its competition for the Grant Goodman Prize in
Philippine History. The prize is intended to recognize scholars
who, over a considerable period of time, have made substantial
contributions to Philippine historical studies. There are no
citizenship or residency requirements. The prize is awarded
biennially, and the first award, in 1994, was made to John N.
Schumacher, S.J., of Ateneo De Manila University. Recipients are
chosen by a committee elected by the Philippine Studies Group,
and the prize will be announced in the Spring of 1996.

Letters of nomination should include the nominee's name,
institutional affiliation, list of publications (or, preferably,
a c.v.), and a brief statement about why the nominee merits the
award. Nominations should be sent before January 1, 1996 to the
Goodman Prize Chairperson, Professor Edward Wickberg, Department
of History, The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, B.C.,
Canada V6T 1Z1